Nomination For SAFS Board Of Directors 2009 - 2010

January 2009

The Nominations Committee consisted of Clive Seligman (President), Doreen Kimura (Past-President), and Albert Katz (UWO) and Natalie Allen (UWO) as two SAFS members not currently on the Board.

The six nominated current Directors are: Andrew Irvine, Tom Flanagan, Steve Lukper, John Mueller, Clive Seligman, and Peter Suedfeld.

Two of our Board Members are stepping down after many years of service. We thank Grant Brown and Marty Wall for all they have done for SAFS. We greatly appreciate their dedication and counsel.

Two new nominees are:

Rodney A. Clifton, B.Ed., M.Ed. (Alberta), Ph.D. (Toronto), Fil. Dr. (Stockholm) specializes in sociology of education, post-secondary education, and educational policy. He is a Professor in the Faculty of Education and a Senior Fellow at St. John’s College, University of Manitoba. Over the last 35 years he has published over 150 articles and written or co-written 6 books including Socioeconomic Status, Attitudes, and Educational Performances: A Comparison of Students in England and New Zealand, Authority in Classrooms, Crosscurrents: Contemporary Canadian Edu-cational Issues, and Recent Social Trends in Canada, 1960-2000. In addition he has been awarded a Spencer Fellowship from the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement, a Rh. Award from the University of Manitoba, a R.W.B. Jackson Research Award from the Canadian Educational Researchers’ Association, and both an Edward Sheffield and a Distinguished Research Award from the Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education.

Mark Mercer, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy at Saint Mary’s University. He received his doctorate in 1991 from the University of Toronto.

Dr Mercer works mainly in metaphysics and the philosophy of mind. About three years ago, he began writing opinion pieces, often on the topic of freedom of expression, for newspapers and magazines. Dr Mercer now writes a weekly column for the Saint Mary’s student paper as The Cranky Professor.

>Any member of SAFS may nominate individuals for election as Director. These nominations must be received at the SAFS Office by April 15, 2009. Each member nomination shall contain the following information: (1) the signature of the person nominating and the signatures of two (2) seconders; (ii) the full name and address of the person nominated; (iii) a statement of the status and attributes of the person nominated, showing each person’s qualifications to be a director; (iv) a written consent signed by the person nominated agreeing to be nominated for election and serve, if elected.